The Republic of Bashkortostan

Loading Player

Bashkortostan – is a republic with unique natural landscapes, developed industry, historic sites, multinational population and centuries-old cultural traditions. The Republic of Bashkortostan is located in the southern part of the Ural Mountains and adjacent plains, at the border of Europe and Asia.

The total area of the Republic of Bashkortostan makes 143 thousand sq. km or 0.8% of the total area of Russia (27th place among other regions of the country). The population of Bashkortostan comprises about 4.1 million people (ranks the 7th among the regions of Russia).

There are 54 administrative districts and 21 cities in Bashkortostan. Ufa, Sterlitamak, Salavat, Neftekamsk and Oktyabrsky are the biggest cities of the Republic.

Bashkortostan is a multinational republic, where representatives of more than hundred nationalities live, including Bashkirs, Russians, Tatars, Chuvash, Mari, Ukrainians and Germans. The Bashkirs are the native inhabitants. Common religions in Bashkortostan are Islam, Orthodox Christianity, Baptism and Catholicism.